Getting to the Databases

Use the links on the GCM Library website to access the databases.  If you are not at school, you will need the passwords available in the GCM Library Blackboard course in the Databases button.

Search Tips

Use the browse feature available in many databases to help you focus on a topic.

Use Advanced Search options to limit your results to certain types of information or particular date ranges.

Search with a variety of terms including synonyms to get a variety of results.

Start Here:

For scholarly resources, check these databases:

For popular resources, see these websites:

  • The Film Space is a British not-for-profit organization founded in 2013 and dedicated to building “an understanding and appreciation of the moving image, in all its forms, amongst children and young people.”
  • Internet Movie Database (IMDb), a comprehensive online source for film research. Check out their site index and search function.
  • American Film Institute (AFI), a non-profit educational and cultural organization that preserves American films and runs a film school, the AFI Conservatory.
  • The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences contains a film archive, links to their museum and collection of photos and videos.
  • Turner Classic Movies Database provides information about classic movies, including credits, synopsis and music information.
  • Palace Classic Films provides original articles on classic Hollywood films.
  • Filmsite   is “an award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century .”

For help with your research: